2010 Wichita County Horse Expo

Last weekend, Pie and I attended the first ever Breed Alley at the Wichita County Horse Expo, in Wichita Falls, at the JD Bridwell Age Center.

This breed alley was my idea, after seeing similar attractions at other horse events around the country. I thought it would be a good event to have here in our city, in the interest of introducing people, both horsey and non horsey, to some not so typical breeds of horses from the area.

We had 7 horses and their euthusiastic owners give up a large portion of their weekend to haul their horses into the Expo and be on hand to answer any questions people had. Pie shared Breed Alley with a Friesian, an Azteca, an Appalossa, Gypsy Horses, Peruvian Paso Finos and Morgans.

I admit, a fun part for me at least, was designing and putting together the informational booth.

Chincoteague Booth

My booth for the Chincoteague Pony

Saturday, each breed was given arena time to showcase their talents or special attributes of the breed.

I showed Pie in hand, because she is still a greenie, even though she doesnt act like it all the time..I felt she would be better shown this way..looking back, she was quite good and probably would have looked fine under saddle..

She did very well stepping up onto her stool and bowed before she exited the arena.

After the breed demos, we had alot of traffic down the alley, and many non horse people as well! I could not have been more pleased for the first time this event was done.

I was also quite proud of Pie, who took having to remain clean for 2 whole days very well, and being confined to a stall..not to mention loading in the pitch blackness in the mornings. I also drove the trailer ALL by myself..even hooked it up by myself! πŸ™‚

Pie loved the attention she received at the expo and would get genuinely upset if you were standing outside her stall and not paying attention to her.

She did let me know when she was ready to go home though, by flipping her water bucket over and flinging her haybag all over…

I was asked to organize this event again next year and I certainly will..it was a great time to catch up with old friends, meet some new and share this wonderful breed of pony, and of course Pie, with others. πŸ™‚

I had big help both days too..wore themselves out..

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

