Riding Progression-Stopping Correctly

As the weather is turning cooler, coupled with the time change, it difficult to ride before dark during the week, I have been trying to make the most of my riding sessions with Pie.

One area that she is steadily gaining confidence and ability in is her stops.

It is an area I am abit fanatical about when training..firstly because a good WHOA should be paramount with most horses and secondly, it is a large trademark of the reining and working cowhorse.

I dont expect Pie to slide 20 feet at this point in her training..what I am focusing on it correctness. I want her stopping when I say WHOA, sit deep and take my leg off her..I also want her stopping “on her hind”. to accomplish this, when I first started her, everytime I stopped her, I used the exact same cues I use now, but I would pick up my reins to reiterate the whoa..and I would back her 4 or 5 steps..all while saying WHOA…WHOA…the backing gets her thinking Back when shes stopping and thus she starts using her hind in her stops..in very simple terms. šŸ™‚


Pie’s ranch-mate, Buck, demo-ing a correct stop

Pie has progressed to the point where she is ready for what are called “baby sliders”..Sliders, plates or slideplates are smooth, wide shoes that reiners and cowhorses wear on their hind feet. The plates make it easier for the horse to slide smoothly, with less jarring on the horse’s hocks.

Baby Sliders are shorter and not as wide. They give a green, young horse a “taste” of wearing a plates, without scaring them.

Pie is pretty consistently stopping correctly and is trying to even slide abit.

Pie’s slidemarks

I am so proud of her..she will be getting her new baby sliders the next time the farrier comes out. Just another step in her journey.

Until next time…

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kyley
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 13:41:37

    awesome! I think we need to see a video šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

