Pie goes to School!

Friday, November 19th, Pie and I went to Casey (my son’s) school to meet the fourth graders.

They are about 3/4 of the way done with Misty of Chincoteague, so Pie and I made the trip to tell the kids about the real Misty, Marguerite Henry, the Island, Pony Penning and the Ponies!

I made a presentation (which I worked tirelessly on every evening last week!) and then the kids got to meet Pie.

I wasnt quite sure what to expect..Ive never done a presentation about this topic before and Pie has never been to a school before. I shouldnt have worried..my 4-h years of giving public presentations paid off (thank you to my 4-h leader for forcing me to do them! 🙂 ) and Pie was the star of the day. She willingly got up on her stool, played soccer with Casey, bowed, and let Casey climb on her back and then step back up on her stool. I swear she perked up when she saw the kids. Ive only known one other horse who just was utterly at home around strange people, the camera and the “limelight”..Pie definantly is.

The day turned interesting when Pie untied herself from the trailer and came to find where all the kids had gone..she felt abit slighted I guess having to be delegated to stand at the trailer..(and for the record, I tied her very well..I do not know how she untied herself!)

Unfortunantly, I did not get any photos myself. Casey’s teacher did and will be forwarding them to me soon..but for now, enjoy a short blurb our local paper ran today, including some pictures of Pie and the presentation.

http://www.timesrecordnews.com/news/2010/nov/21/a-pony-tale/

As always, this pony never ceases to amaze me. We got glowing remarks from all the teachers and the kids seemed to really enjoy the presentation and Pie.

I hope to do more of these..I enjoyed it, as did Pie.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kyley
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 17:10:59

    so much fun! I spotted my boy’s paintings in your presentation…..so neat! 🙂

    Reply

    • slidebythesea
      Nov 22, 2010 @ 01:15:36

      Yes! The kids got to giggling when I told them a very special Chincoteague pony painted these..I was prepared and showed them a picture of Minnow painting, so they didnt think I was pulling their leg. 😉

      Reply

  2. katrena
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 17:21:37

    How funny that she untied herself to go find the kids! What a great experience for them, you and Pie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

