Happy Holidays! Recap 2010, looking towards 2011

On this Christmas Eve, Im sure many people are gathered with family and friends..both four and two legged, enjoying themselves.

Pie enjoyed herself at dinner..Ive always given all the horses a traditional christmas treat on christmas eve..Pie enjoyed a hot mash today with all the fixin’s. It was a perfect day for it, as a cold rain had fallen this AM and a blustery north wind was blowing.

Pie cleaned up her treat and then posed for some christmas pictures.

Thankfully, we didnt have the snow we had last year! 18 inches, a RARE occurrence in north texas!

2010 was a big year for team Pie. Pie learned her first tricks this year, bowing, playing soccer, and standing on her stepstool. She was also gentled to ride this past summer. This is a milestone for myself too, as she is the first horse I have started all by myself from the ground up. Pie and I also went to our first school together to tell the story of the island, Misty, and the ponies. She has also sparked Casey, my son;s, interest in riding again. I hope he sticks with it!

I also made a lifelong goal a reality when I visited Chincoteague this year and got to see the many places referenced in the books I read so many years ago. I also got to meet Misty III, other Misty relatives, and of course, Kendy Allen, who was so very kind to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Importantly, Pie has provided me with a year full of memories, challenges, triumphs and laughs. I love this pony so much, she truly is something special.

*Looking ahead to 2011*
I am looking forward to bringing Pie further along and starting to take her to some small shows to give her experience and get her out. She is coming along beautifully, I truly think she will be up for the challenge.

Id like to continue Pie’s trick training as well..Ive got afew ideas on what to teach her, but Im going to wait to let all our readers know what we actually decide on. I let Pie tell me what she’s ready for. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Pie and I would also like to visit more schools this year! I enjoyed the presentation we did..and I truly believe Pie did as well. If you or someone you know would like us to come and do a presentation on the island, the real Misty, the ponies, and bring Pie to meet everybody, please let me know!

Pie and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas, hope your holidays are a joyous one and a very happy New Year! See you in 2011!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

