Springtime Work

Beautiful weather the past week or so in north Texas..and not just because it is above freezing! (now I know why I left the northeast..brrrrr!) We have hit the 80 degree mark afew times. I love this weather and Pie seems to as well.

Pie is such a smart pony, while she is somewhat content the first day or so of being out of work, she quickly gets impatient and wants to DO something..I can tell the way she looks at me when I feed, kind of this funny look, with her ears cocked in a quizical way like “When do we go back to doing STUFF??”

It definantly makes me start thinking about goals for this year when the weather warms up. Of course, onward and upward we go with her training..she has only had 60 or so actual saddlings and she is making leaps and bounds in her education.

Paul got on her the other day, as I like to get his thoughts on her every once in awhile..he’s gentled many horses. He felt she was doing very well. That made me feel good, as Pie is the first horse I’ve totally started from the ground up.

I am very looking forward to starting her on cattle this year as well. I have high hopes she will take to it well.

One other goal is to go to more schools and groups, giving our presentation on Misty, Marguerite Henry, and Chincoteague..you may remember our first trip in November even made the local paper!

Of course, we will keep working on tricks. Pie is getting really good at soccer, she is starting to continually put more “oomph” behind her movements..and she will say “yes” to anything you ask her. πŸ™‚

I hope the weather keeps improving and we get to continue getting back into the swing of things!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kyley
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 19:32:41

    Yeah for warm weather! I hate the cold!
    Minnow and my doxie were requested to make a presentation to an elementary school this spring. We’ve done many performances & camp demos/etc – but this will actually be our first school visit. You might have to give me some pointers on what the kids enjoyed hearing/learning about (as this group has also read misty in class). I guess I gotta brush up on my Misty facts! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 01:53:03

    Kyley, anything u need, let me know. The kids really enjoyed seeing pictures of the actual misty and beebes…also loved some of the ” fun facts” about the real misty…like when she rode up the elevator at the librarians convention! Also liked seeing pictures of the ponies on assateague..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

